7.6 View and Manage Data Entities

All the created and imported data entities along with their details are displayed in the Data Entities page.

To improve performance while loading a large number of data entities, the Data Entities display is paginated such that it loads a 1000 records at a time. More records are fetched as you progressively scroll the displayed list. When you run a filter, if there are more records that match the search criteria than is displayed on the Data Entities page, you will see a link at the top of the table that you can click to load the results for that filter. The displayed result will also be paginated such that the page will list a 1000 records and load more as you scroll the list.

You can search for the required Data Entity to know its details based on the following filters:

  • Name of the Data Entity.
  • Connection for which the Data Entity was created.
  • Schema to which the Data Entity is associated.
  • Entity Type of the Data Entity.
  • Tags that are associated with the Data Entity.

Click the Actions icon (Actions icon) next to the selected Data Entity to perform the following operations:

  • Select Edit, to edit the existing details.
  • Select Preview, to preview the selected Data Entity. If the data entity belongs to an Oracle database, you can also view statistics of the table. See View Statistics of Data Entities for more details.
  • Select View Dependencies to check the dependent data flows and the data loads, if any, that are associated with the selected data entity. The dependencies are grouped by Project Name under the Data Entity Object and each project node lists the associate data loads and data flow.
  • You can delete a single or multiple data entities. To delete data entities:
    • Select the data entities.
    • Click the Delete button. The first confirmation screen appears listing the selected data entities.
    • Click Delete. Another confirmation screen appears listing the data flows and the data loads that will be affected as part of the deletion. For data entities that have no dependencies, the confirmation screen displays the status as "Deleted".
    • Select one or more checkboxes, as required, and click Delete. A confirmation screen appears displaying the status of the data entities as "Deleted".

    Any data flows that reference the deleted data entities become invalid. Data load jobs for loading the deleted data entities will fail. No additional objects are deleted.