Disconnect a Peer Database

Shows you the steps to disconnect a peer database from the Primary database.

When you disconnect a cross region peer, the database is permanently disassociated from the Primary database. This converts the database from a peer database to a standalone database. After you disconnect a peer database you are not allowed to reconnect to the Primary.

Perform the following prerequisite steps as necessary:

You can perform this operation from the Primary database or from a cross region peer.

To perform the disconnect operation on a Cross Region standby (or on a Cross Region backup copy):

  1. On the cross region peer, on the Autonomous AI Database details page, under Disaster recovery in the Role field, click Disconnect peer.

  2. On the Disconnect peer database dialog, enter the peer database name to confirm the disconnect.

  3. Click Disconnect.

    The Autonomous AI Database Lifecycle state changes to Updating.

Note: This action will permanently and irreversibly disconnect this disaster recovery peer from the Primary database making it a standalone database, which removes its protection against outages and any backup available on the remote peer. If you disconnect this peer permanently, consider adding a new peer to the Primary to maintain disaster recovery protection. To temporarily open up this peer for read-write access and testing. Convert this peer database into a snapshot standby instead.

To perform the disconnect operation on the Primary:

  1. On the Primary database, on the Autonomous AI Database Details page, in the Resources area click Disaster recovery.

  2. At the end of the row for the peer you want to disconnect, click More actions and select Disconnect peer.

  3. On the Disconnect peer database dialog, enter the peer database name to confirm the disconnect.

  4. Click Disconnect.

    The Autonomous AI Database Lifecycle state changes to Updating.

Notes for disconnecting a cross region peer.